Chesterfield Historical Society of Virginia


Chesterfield Museum and Historic 1892 Jail 

Chesterfield Museum "The COUNTY MUSEUM"

No entry fee, donations welcome.  A replica of the first Chesterfield County courthouse of 1749, the County Museum brick design was selected in 1976 as the American Bicentennial project for the county. It opened on the Fourth of July, 1980. The original courthouse bell dating from 1749 was placed on permanent display in the County Museum in 2017. The Museum contains three galleries:

  • The Story of Chesterfield County depicts the history of the area between the James and Appomattox Rivers from the era of Pre-Contact through today.   The General Store is a reproduction of a typical Chesterfield country store at the turn of the 20th Century that served as the hub of the county’s rural community.  The Rotating Exhibit gallery displays temporary exhibits featuring commemorations specific to Chesterfield County. 

    The HISTORIC 1892 JAILHistoric 1892 Jail

    Tours of the Historic 1892 Jail start at the County Museum.

    Adjacent to the County Museum, the Historic 1892 Jail is commonly referred to as the “Old Jail.”  A two-story granite and brick building, it served as the county prison until 1962. During the 1940s, the jail also served as Police headquarters and housed the county communications center. In 1982, it was designated a museum and made available to the Chesterfield Historical Society of VA as its first head office location.  Upstairs, original iron-barred cells still enclose metal bunks, primitive ablution facilities and graffiti.  Downstairs, the space is used for temporary exhibits. The front porch features a stone step preserved from the first Chesterfield County courthouse of 1749.

    Hours:   Tuesday-Friday 10-4 pm & Saturdays 10 am-2pm.   

    Old Jail Collage

 Click on picture for a virtual tour of the Chesterfield Museum and Jail

Road Map      Go here for programs

Rediscover Chesterfield’s History

In Chesterfield County, visitors can experience over 400 years of history spanning the pre-colonial era through the early 20th century. Visit our historic sites and take part in our programs and events to learn some unique firsts that happened here.

C'field History Logo       Virginia is foir Lovers Logo


Chesterfield County's Unique Historical Sites

Castlewood Castlewood, as seen today, was built by Parke Poindexter who served as clerk of the court from 1812 until 1847. Castlewood's five-part design bears no likeness to any other recorded dwelling in Virginia.  The historical home formerly housed the offices and staff of the Chesterfield Historical Society of Virginia.  We are now in the historic Trinity Church and we have our research library and offices there.  Our holdings focus primarily on the history of Chesterfield county and its families. The collection has been carefully assembled through the years by members and friends of the Society and preserved for the use of this and future generations. We invite the public to make use of our library free of charge. 

And while you are here, check out the museum, the historic 1892 Jail and Magnolia Grange House Museum.  We have rotating exhibits on display.  We hope to have soon Historic Point of Rocks as a favorite place to visit as well.  This site is currently closed to the public.