Major General Benjamin Butler USA
Major General P.T. Beauregard CSA
Guided Civil War Tours
Civil War Guided Tours:
and payment required at least one week in
advance. Wear comfortable walking shoes.
To register , use the PayPal buttons shown below
or for details
Bryan Truzzie at 804-751-4946.
Tours are on
Historic Point of Rocks Guided Tour
Tours are onFridays, 10 a.m. – noon $8 per person
Visit Historic Point of Rocks and learn about the Union hospital established here where Clara Barton served. Walk the ground where President Lincoln visited in 1865. View federal fortifications and learn why this location played a major role in the Bermuda Hundred Campaign. Wear comfortable shoes. Tour meets in maintenance parking lot at Dodd Park.
R. Garland Dodd Park, 201 Enon Church Road
Battle of Drewry’s Bluff NEW
On May 15, 1862, a Federal flotilla led by the ironclads USS Monitor and USS Galena attempted to force its way past the Confederate fort at Drewry’s Bluff. The Federals were turned back after a three hour battle and Richmond was never again seriously threatened by a water- based attack. Take a walking tour and discover why this site was called the Gibraltar of the Confederacy.
Drewry’s Bluff, 7600 Fort Darling Road
The second oldest artifact in Chesterfield County, VA, the c. 1749 Courthouse Bell was removed from the cupola of the 1917 Courthouse in 2018 where it had been hanging for 100 years. It was restored and placed in the Chesterfield Museum. You can hear its last ring when enting the front door and activating a button. The bell was rung for emergencis, court days, prisoner escapes and warnings.
Castlewood was the home of Parke Poindexter who was the Clerk of Court in Chesterfield County, VA. His home, as seen in disrepair in 1935, has been used as a home, a bank, and Home of the Chesterfield Historical Society of Virginia and offices. It has been renovated and restored back to its orginial view. The unique archirecture relating to this house is not yet open to tours.
The result of the first dispute regarding a gvernment structure, the Board of Supervisors aggeed to tear down the historic 1749 Courthouse and replace it with this colononial style building at the begiining of WWI. It is an actice court and is not available for tours.
Sheriff William C. Gill was the longest serving county sheriff, W.C. Gill, kept detail records and many of those were discarded not so long ago. Sheriff William Chastain Gill (1880-1925) reportedly kept a daily record (ledger books) of the events that took place in his jail. According to the Chesterfield County Sheriff’s historian, the ledger books that Sheriff Gill meticulously maintained were kept in the Sheriff’s office up to the time the County’s newest jail was being built. These books may have been thrown in the dumpster by the workers tearing down the 1962 Jail
This site was the location of the training complex of the Revolutionary War, It was selected to be the Training Depot by then Governor Thomas Jefferson. It was burned slightly by British General Phillips who also burned the barracks bulit by Baron Von Steuben to support his recruits.