Civil War Tours
Chesterfield Historical Society of Virginia
Bermuda Hundred Campaign
Discover your Chesterfield ancestors and
their rich history. Our volunteers
are there to assist you if needed..
See our library page for more
information. See The New Film on
Discover your Chesterfield ancestors and their rich history. Our volunteers are there to assist you if needed.. See our library page for more information. See The New Film on the Library Committee
Chesterfield County Civil War Notables
After the start of
the war, Thomas O. Osborn became
the lieutenant colonel of the 39th Illinois
Infantry on October 11, 1861, and was
promoted to colonel the following year on
January 1. He led the regiment in several
campaigns and battles. His command saw
action in the 1862 Valley
Campaign against Confederate forces under Lt.
Jonathan "Stonewall" Jackson, participating
in the Battle of Port Republic on June 9.
From July until September 1863, Osborn took
part in Union operations against Charleston,
South Carolina, including attacks on Fort
Wagner and Fort Sumter. In 1864, Osborn
commanded the 1st Brigade, 1st Division of
the XXIV Corps of the Army of the James,
Osborn was badly wounded at the Battle of
Drewry's Bluff on May 14, 1864, when a
musket ball shattered his right elbow and
lodged in his arm. He stayed in the hospital
until September before being released for
duty. In December, he had recovered enough
to report for duty. However, he suffered
from ankylosis of the injured elbow for the
rest of his life.
During the Siege
of Petersburg in
1864 into 1865, Osborn led a brigade in the
XXIV Corps. He was brevetted to the rank
of brigadier general on March 10, 1865
Johnson Hagood was a brigadier general in the Confederate States Army during the American Civil War and the 80th Governor of South Carolina from 1880 to 1882.After defeating Robert Gould Shaw and the 54th Regiment at the second Battle of Fort Wagner, commanding Confederate General Johnson Hagood returned the bodies of the other Union officers who had died, but left Shaw's where it was, using the logic of most Confederate officers that the African American soldiers were fugitive slaves and that the attack of the fort was a slave revolt led by Shaw. Hagood informed a captured Union surgeon that "had he been in command of white troops, I should have given him an honorable burial; as it is, I shall bury him in the common trench with the negroes that fell with him."
Clarissa (Claraa) Harlowe Barton (December 25, 1821 – April 12, 1912) was an American nurse who founded the American Red Cross. She was a hospital nurse in the American Civil War, a teacher, and a patent clerk. Since nursing education was not then very formalized and she did not attend nursing school, she provided self-taught nursing care. Barton is noteworthy for doing humanitarian work and civil rights advocacy at a time before women had the right to vote. In 1864, she was appointed by Union General Benjamin Butler as the "lady in charge" of the hospitals at the front of the Army of the James. Among her more harrowing experiences was an incident in which a bullet tore through the sleeve of her dress without striking her and killed a man to whom she was tending. She was known as the "Florence Nightingale of America". She was also known as the "Angel of the Battlefield"
Help Save Chesterfield County's Rich History
"C. 1860 Summerseat" - According to tradition, this 19th century house was used by a county magistrate as the “seat” of his court during summer months due to the muddy and rutted roads which made travel to the courthouse in the center of the county almost impossible. The lower brick portion of the house was the “jail” or “detention center, complete with bars that held prisoners or those persons awaiting trial. It is not a large building at 18 by 16 feet. The house is part of Virginia State University.
C. 1879 Trinity Church - The old church sits in a stand of a few trees not quite visible from Krause Road but adjacent to Ironbridge Road where it is plainly noticeable. It offers an unobstructed view at that corner. Not so vacant any longer and no longer a huge storage shed for odds and ends, it serves a new purpose in its longevity of survival. It is alive with activity once again. Presently, the Chesterfield Historical Society of Virginia is utilizing the building as its headquarters and library until historic Castlewood is renovated. Historic Castlewood, ca. 1817-1819, sits nearby to the church just across Krause Road and was once the parsonage for the Methodist.
Summer Camps for Children